top of page

Vintage ruffles

I fell into a rabbits hole on the web, and found some wonderful pictures of Victorian times and the clothes they wore. Some of the women had these ruffled scarves and ...............light bulb! (as Gru says) lol

I found an old pattern, some scrumptious Malabrigo lace wool and so I began.

Needles​: 4 mm (US 6)

Wool suggestion: I used Malabrigo Lace but I think almost any wool can be used. Why not try to experiment with thick wool like Aran or even chunky? You may have to alter the number of stitches though.

Abbreviations:

K: Knit

Wt: Wrap and turn (see how here)

Sts: Stitches

Final measurements: It’s totally up to you how long you want your scarf

Pattern:

Row 1. K

Row 2 . K 12 sts, wt, k to end

Row 3. K 6 sts, wt, k to end

Repeat Row 1-3 throughout

The scarf:

Cast on 32 sts and follow the 3 pattern rows until you have used the whole skein,(or until desired length) but make sure you leave enough wool to bind off. (Yes it’s that easy)

Feel free to make this for friends and family or even sell the finished product. I just ask that you'll give me credit for the pattern and share the link to my site please xx.

bottom of page