top of page

Magically Diagon Alley Scarf

If you're a knitter/crocheter like me, you'll probably have boxes and shelves of little scraps of yarn that you just can't throw away or even packs of yarn you purchased just because it was cheap, interesting, delicious, squishy? I find it so hard to get rid of even the tiniest little ball because you never know...........................I'm not the only one am I?

I've decided that this year I must do one project with yarn from my stash for every project I buy wool for (if that makes sense). I've already made the Granny Square blanket for my partner. Now I'm feeling very proud and accomplished that I've started a scarf and I haven't bought yarn, so actually, I'm ahead of my plan already (YAY me).

I decided to use the colours you see here

It's all between 1 and 4 ply, so I hold two strands together in some places to get the right tension.

So far I think it looks really nice. I haven't finished yet as you can see but it's growing fairly quick.

I may have to buy more of the black/grey with sequins but I'm hoping I can find some on offer at my local wool shop. They always have a basket of discontinued yarn I can rummage through so wish me luck.

I'm not following a pattern but it's really easy to make and I'll share with you how I'm making this:

Materials: Whatever you have in your stash

Needles: 5 mm (US 8, UK 6)

Pattern: Knit all the way through

Abbreviations:

CO: cast on

K: knit

St(s): stitch/stitches

Kfb: knit front/back (=increase 1 st)

K2tog: knit 2 sts together (=decrease 1 st)

BO: bind off

The scarf is knit diagonally (hence the name. It made me think of Harry Potter)

The Scarf:

CO 3 sts

Row 1: k

Row 2: kfb, k to end

Row 3: kfb, k to end

Repeat row 1 and 2, increasing at the beginning of every row until you have 60 sts or desired width. If you use thicker yarn, you may wish to have fewer sts. At the same time, make stripes. I'm making 2 rows of every colour but you can do it exactly how you want of course.

When you have reached your desired width, continue as follows:

Row 1: kfb, k to end

Row 2: k2tog, k to end

Repeat row 1 and 2 until you have reached your desired length, after which you continue like this:

Row 1: k2tog, k to end

Row 2: k2tog, k to end

Continue decreasing 1 stitch at the beginning of every row, until you have 3 sts left on the needle. BO

I hope you'll enjoy making this little project and of course, if you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me. I'm here to help...........oh - and don't forget to share my page with your friends please.

bottom of page