top of page

Old Fashioned Granny Square

I've been knitting and crocheting 45+ years now and I still enjoy learning new stitches and/or techniques. I don't claim to be an expert, because there's still lots to learn (hopefully) and I just enjoy the experience, but you know, sometimes it's nice to return to something basic...... something you don't have to think about. The hook or needles just fly through a ball of wool and you don't even notice how the work grows. The monotony of your movements just have this calming effect.

My daughter bought me a ball winder for Christmas, so I thought it would be a good idea to get my stash sorted. We all have those little scraps of wool - too small for a project but too big to throw away (I'm really silly because I just cannot throw anything away). Anyway - I started winding all mys scraps, big and small. I knew I had a lot..................but WOW.

I decided to use them and when I saw all the colours, I immediately thought of a good old fashioned Granny Square blanket. I don't know what people think of Granny blankets (and to be honest, I don't really care), but to me it's been so nice to do. It's "safe" and it takes me back to my childhood, long gone family members and the blankets I used to snuggle under.

My blanket is almost finished and my partner has already claimed it as his (that's a compliment). He even has a name for it (now is the time to close your eyes if you hate swear words). He said: "Is that my f**k sh*t wrap you're working on"? Me: "Your WHAT"?? Him: "F**k sh*t it's cold...........you know, my f**k sh*t wrap, right"? Well what can you expect from an East London boy, former Royal Marine, former Rugby player? As I said, I took it as a compliment lol.

bottom of page