top of page

I love stash buster patterns....

.....mainly because I have a lot of stash and at the moment not a lot of money to buy more wool (fortunately I guess)

I'm thinking of creating a monthly washcloth/dishcloth pattern because I like to find new patterns on the internet, that I may use in some cardigan or as a baby blanket and I just want to see how they look in real life so to speak. At the same time I'm using all the odd balls of yarn, you know, the ones that are too small for an actual project but too big to just throw in the bin.

So - this month I have made the "More Zig than Zag" washcolth. I know - it's not a very practical colour but I'm thinking of putting a present together for my daughter, including some nice soap, face masks and this washcloth.......it'll be pretty if nothing else.

I used Cotton DK Classique by Stylecraft. The brand recommends 4mm needles, but I find that 3.5mm works best for me. I knit more even with a smaller needle when I use cotton and I like a quite dense washcloth.

The pattern isn't reversible so have that in mind for whatever project you decide for this pattern.

So - let's start:

Yarn: Cotton DK Classique by Stylecraft (or your preferred brand)

Needles: 3.5mm (US 4)

Darning needle

Optional: a crochet hook to make a loop for hanging

The pattern repeat is 10 stitches, so I cast on a total of 58 stitches. That is 4 stitches on each side for border and 5 pattern repeats (50 stitches). The white squares are knit on the right side and purl on the wrong side. The black dots are purl on the right side and knit on the wrong side. Row 1, 3, 5 etc. reads from right to left and row 2, 4, 6 etc from left to right.

Start by knitting 6 rows for the bottom border and continue as follows:

Row 1: Knit 4, start row 1 of the pattern (knit 9, purl 1) and repeat 4 more times (5 in total), knit 4

Row 2: Knit 4, purl 1, knit 1, purl 7, knit 1, knit 5 (includes 4 border stitches)

Follow the pattern until you have reached the desired length. Bind off but leave the last stitch if you want to do the loop. Use your crochet hook and chain 10. Bind off. Sew in the ends and you're done!!

I'll be happy if you share the pattern with your friends, but please tell them where you've found it so I get more creative people to look at my blog. Thank you xx.

bottom of page